2018

Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 09:19

EDMONDS – Hundreds of thousands of people will be dashing through the sound on a crowded state ferry over the next several days. People driving onto a vessel should plan for long wait times as many travelers head to or from their Christmas or New Year’s getaways. Delays may be longest on the Edmonds/Kingston route, where a smaller-than-normal vessel is in service.

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 - 13:00

SEATTLE – While many Washington State Ferries employees are trained to save lives, it is a relief to know that ferry employees are a part of a community where others are also prepared to leap into action. On Wednesday, Dec. 5, WSF honored Petty Officer 2nd Class Nicholas Besheer and Vigor Safety Manager Billy Ray Brittain for saving the life of WSF Assistant Engineer Dave Bennett.

Monday, December 3, 2018 - 12:30

MUKILTEO – Washington State Ferries (WSF) today selected IMCO Construction as the general contractor for the next stage of construction of Mukilteo Multimodal Ferry Terminal.

Tuesday, November 20, 2018 - 10:40

SEATTLE – It’s not just those awkward dinner table conversations that Thanksgiving travelers need to prepare for – they also need to be ready for long ferry lines and heavy traffic throughout the holiday weekend. With nearly 350,000 people expected to ride a ferry from Wednesday, Nov. 21, to Sunday, Nov. 25, it’s best to leave early and use technology to help with trip planning.

Tuesday, November 13, 2018 - 13:58

SEATTLE – For the fourth year in a row, Seattle Seahawks fans are invited to a pregame rally aboard one of Washington’s ferries! This year those aboard the floating pep rally will have the chance to compete for the title of “Most Decked Out Seahawks Fan.”

Monday, November 5, 2018 - 14:58

SEATTLE – At 11:11 a.m. on Veterans Day, Nov. 11, Washington State Ferries will observe two minutes of silence to recognize the bravery and sacrifice of the men and women who have served in the United States Armed Forces.

Thursday, October 25, 2018 - 13:34

SEATTLE – Several of Washington’s favorite green and white boats will be even more stylish this November. The ferries on the Seattle/Bainbridge route will be sporting mustache decals for the second year in a row to raise awareness about men’s health.

Tuesday, October 23, 2018 - 13:24

Customers can expect a second weekend of temporary sailing schedule changes due to only one slip available for ferries at Colman Dock on Saturday, Oct. 27, and Sunday, Oct. 28. The Pacific Lifter, a giant barge with a floating crane, will occupy the second slip so crews can finish installing piles for a work platform.

Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 14:38

Nearly all trips to and from Colman Dock will follow a temporary sailing schedule on Saturday, Oct. 20, through Sunday, Oct. 21, as construction to replace the state’s seismically vulnerable flagship ferry terminal steams ahead.

Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 10:08

Washington State Ferries will begin to carry passengers aboard the newest state ferry, Suquamish, with a 12:30 p.m. sailing from Clinton this afternoon, Thursday, Oct. 4.

Pages