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[bookmark: name]INSERT DATE


INSERT NAME
[bookmark: address]INSERT ADDRESS


Relocation Assistance Program
Notice of Relocation Eligibility, Entitlements & 90-Day Assurance
[bookmark: project]Project Name:  INSERT PROJECT NAME
[bookmark: parcel]Parcel No.:  INSERT PARCEL #
[bookmark: Displacee]Displacee No.:  INSERT DISPLACEE #

Dear INSERT NAME:

[bookmark: add][bookmark: odate]On INSERT OFFER DATE the Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) offered to purchase the dwelling you occupy located at INSERT ADDRESS.  According to our information, you have occupied the above dwelling since INSERT OCCUPIED DATE.

Relocation Notice of Eligibility
You are eligible to receive relocation assistance in accordance with the United States Code, 42 USC 4601 et seq., Public Law 91-646, and the implementing regulations found in 49 Code of Federal Regulations, CFR Part 24 and the Revised Code of Washington, RCW 8.26 and the implementing regulations of the Washington Administrative Code, WAC 468-100.  The purpose of this letter is to advise you of the relocation services and entitlements that may be available to you in accordance with the federal and state laws and regulations cited above.

90-Day Assurance
You are not required to relocate immediately.  You will not be required to vacate the property before INSERT ASSURANCE DATE, which is at least 90 days from the date you receive this letter.

Rent Supplement Entitlement
As a tenant occupant of 90 or more days, you may be entitled to a Rent Supplement Payment.  This payment is based upon the difference between INSERT ONE PHRASE OR THE OTHER (30% of your gross income or rent plus utilities at your present dwelling) and the rent plus utility costs at your present dwelling and the rent plus utilities at a suitable replacement rental dwelling currently available for rent on the market.  The estimated cost of utilities is calculated using the local Housing Authority Utility Allowance Sheet published by U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development or the cost of average monthly utilities obtained from utility companies.

Your current dwelling does not meet WSDOT Decent, Safe, and Sanitary (DSS) housing standards.  In these cases Federal and State regulations allow an agency to find smaller DSS replacement homes.

Listed below are dwelling(s) presently available for rent:

Address	Rent	Utilities	Total

1.   	$	$	$
2.  	$	$	$
3.  	$	$	$

[bookmark: cadd]The best available replacement dwelling was determined to be INSERT SELECTED DWELLING NUMBER.  Based on the rent plus utilities or 30% of your gross income of dwelling number INSERT SELECTED DWELLING NUMBER located at INSERT COMP ADDRESS your maximum rent supplement is calculated as follows:

Rent plus utility costs at selected dwelling	$
Less rent plus utilities at present dwelling	$
Monthly rent and utility difference	$

$INSERT RENT DIFFERENCE Rent difference X 42 months  =  $INSERT DOLLAR AMOUNT Your Maximum Rent Supplement

The amount of your actual rent supplement will be based upon the rent and utilities of your replacement dwelling.  For instance, if the rent plus utilities is $INSERT RENT OF SELECTED DWELLING or more per month for your replacement house, you will receive the maximum rent supplement of $INSERT MAX RENT SUPPLEMENT.  For every dollar you spend on your replacement rent plus utilities below $INSERT RENT OF SELECTED DWELLING, your total rent supplement will be $42 dollars less ($1 per month times 42 months).

Down Payment Assistance
Should you decide to purchase a replacement dwelling rather than rent, you may qualify for down payment assistance.  The amount of this assistance will be either $7,200, or the total amount of your calculated rent supplement, whichever is greater.  However, the entire amount of the down payment must be paid towards the purchase price as a principal reduction and eligible closing costs, not including prepaid taxes, interest or insurance.  The purchase of your replacement dwelling will be subject to a DSS inspection by WSDOT.

Moving Entitlement
[bookmark: arooms]You may select a commercial move, an actual cost move or a self-move schedule payment for moving your personal property. If you elect to contract with a commercial mover the department will reimburse your actual moving expenses based on paid receipts.  WSDOT can pay your mover directly upon request.  Payment for a commercial move is limited up to a maximum of 50 miles.  If you elect to complete an actual cost move you will be reimbursed for labor and equipment used to move your property.  You will need to supply supporting documentation, such as paid receipts, to me.  If you elect to complete a self-move with a schedule payment, you will be paid based on the number of eligible rooms.  I have determined that you have INSERT NUMBER OF ROOMS eligible rooms, which entitles you to a moving payment of $INSERT SCHEDULE DOLLAR AMOUNT to move your own personal property.  Once you decide how you wish to move, you will need to sign a Moving Expense Agreement.

Advisory Assistance
I will be available to answer any questions about your relocation entitlements.  You will be provided with assistance in completing claim forms.  If you request, transportation will be provided so you may inspect replacement housing.  Information concerning other available government programs such as Section 8 housing, unemployment benefits, food stamps, etc. will be provided on request.

Claiming Your Entitlement
You must notify me of the date you intend to move and sign a Moving Expense Agreement.  Once you have vacated the property completely you will need to schedule a vacate inspection with me.  Once I have verified that all personal property has been removed, I will prepare a claim, secure appropriate signatures and submit the claim for processing and payment.  In the event that all personal property is not removed, appropriate action will be taken by the department and you will be responsible for the cost associated with removing any personal property left at the displacement site. This cost will be deducted from your moving claim/payment.

Prior to processing claims for relocation entitlements, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requires WSDOT obtain your correct taxpayer identification number (TIN) or social security number (SSN).  WSDOT is required by the IRS to obtain a completed W-9 form from anyone to whom a payment is made.  In addition to the IRS requirement, the Washington State Office of Financial Management (OFM) requires that all state agencies use a statewide vendor number for all payments.  You will be required to complete the W-9 form (Substitute Form W-9), as well as the Statewide Vendor Registration & Payment Option form, and provide said forms to me. This is necessary even though relocation payments are considered non-taxable.  If you have already completed these forms, please inform me.  It is recommended that both forms are completed prior to submittal of any relocation claims in order to expedite the payment process once claims are actually submitted.  If you need advice on how to complete these forms, please contact an IRS office, accountant, or legal consultant.  

In order to be entitled to your replacement housing payment, you must rent (or purchase) and occupy a decent, safe and sanitary replacement dwelling within one year after the date you move from the displacement dwelling.  You have 18 months after that vacate date within which to actually claim your relocation entitlement.

Prior to signing a rental or purchase agreement for your replacement dwelling, please contact me for an inspection of the dwelling.  This inspection will ensure that the property meets the decent, safe and sanitary requirements noted in the Relocation Assistance Program Brochure.  The housing inspection must be completed before any replacement housing payment can be made.

Occupancy of Property
Occupancy of the property beyond the date that WSDOT takes possession of the property will require you to sign a lease and pay economic rent in the amount of $INSERT ECONOMIC RENT on a monthly basis.  Attached is a template of a lease that you will be required to sign.  If you enter into a lease with our agency to rent the displacement property, nonpayment of rent may result in a loss of all or part of your relocation entitlements.  

Reconsideration of a WSDOT Decision and Right to Appeal 
If you disagree with a determination made by me or another relocation specialist regarding your eligibility for, or the amount of your relocation entitlement, you may seek an informal reconsideration of such determination by sending a letter explaining your grievance within 30 days after receipt of such determination to:

Washington State Department of Transportation
Relocation Assistance Program Manager
Real Estate Services
PO Box 47338
	Olympia, WA 98504-7338

You also have the right to appeal a determination WSDOT should make as to your eligibility for or the amount of any payment without going through the informal reconsideration process.  The appeal procedure is explained in the Relocation Assistance Program Brochure as well as the General Notice Letter previously given to you.

As previously stated, the purpose of this letter is to provide specific information as to how your entitlements are calculated and how you may claim them. Please sign the receipt below so our records show you received this letter.  Feel free to contact me for any clarification and any questions you may have.
Sincerely,



[bookmark: aname]INSERT SPECIALIST'S NAME
Relocation Specialist
Real Estate Services
[bookmark: aaddress]INSERT SPECIALIST'S ADDRESS
[bookmark: phone]INSERT SPECIALIST'S PHONE NUMBER & FAX NUMBER
INSERT SPECIALIST'S E-MAIL ADDRESS


Acknowledgment of Receipt of Letter

Signature:	 Date: ________________________
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