Skip Top Navigation

Volunteer Drivers Guide - Section 11

Program and Individual Acknowledgements

The Agency Council on Coordinated Transportation (ACCT) would like to thank all of the organizations and individuals that contributed to the development of this document. Without their generous contributions, Volunteer Drivers: A Guide to Best Practices, could not have been created.

The forms and attachments included in this guide were drawn from materials available in the public domain, such as the State Patrol Criminal History Request, or compiled from materials freely contributed by the organizations and individuals listed below.

The use of the materials contributed was extended only to the Agency Council on Coordinated Transportation for the purpose of establishing and improving volunteer transportation programs. The information in the guide is not to be used by any individuals or organizations that intend to make a financial profit from the use of the materials.

All the contributions were appreciated; however, there were seven individuals that contributed comprehensive operations manuals from their programs, including forms and training materials. Several of these programs have previously been selected as model programs by one or more researchers and/or organizations.

Who Were the Major Contributors?

Elaine Wells Ride Connection Manual, Forms, Policies - Portland, Oregon
Marci Durban People for People Manual, Forms, - Yakima, Washington Training Manual
Gail Griggs COAST Manual, Forms, Proofing - Colfax, Washington
Jean Engleke Area IV AAA & CAP Manual, Brochures, Forms - Lafayette, Indiana Interstate Registration Guide
Noreen Franklin Ingersoll, Oxford County Manual, Forms - Ontario, Canada
Richard Smith TRIPS Manual, Forms - Riverside, California
Marlene Tews Waupaca County HS, WI Manual, Forms

Other Important Contributors


Victoria Brooks CIMA Insurance Alexandria, VA
Tracey Christianson WSTIP Olympia, WA
Jenny Christiansen County Senior Transportation Salt Lake City, UT
Doug Ellington American Highways Insurance Reno, NE
Rep. Roger Fitzwater Missouri House of Representatives Jefferson City, MO
Mac Fletcher Care Cars for Elders Spokane, WA
Lois Irwin Partners in Rural Improvement Spokane, WA
Betsy Kachmar Indiana RTAP Bloomington, IN
Jennifer Hardin Center for Urban Transportation Tampa, Florida
Carol Hunter-Zoworski Oregon State University Corvallis, OR
JoAnne Hutchinson Florida Commission for the Tallahassee, FL
Transportation Disadvantaged
Aaron Knight North Idaho Community Express Coeur d' Alene, ID
Jeanne Audry-Lang Northwest Regional Council Bellingham, WA
Paul Meury Medical Assistance Administration Olympia, WA
Bonnie Miller Intercity Transit Olympia, WA
Mary Nokes Mason County Transit Shelton, WA
Chuck Post Special Transportation Services Phoenix, AZ
Daphne Tackett Pierce Transit Vanpool Tacoma, WA
Julie Williams Interlink, Inc. Lewiston, ID


British Columbia Transit Vancouver, Canada
Brown County Human Services Green Bay, WI
Community Transportation Association of America Washington, D.C.
Disabled American Veterans Trans. Network Cold Springs, KY
Department for Adult and Senior Services New Castle, DE
Hennepin Co. Volunteer Services Program Minneapolis, MN
Lutheran Social Services of Chicago Chicago, IL
New Hampshire Dept. Health & Human Services Concord, NH
Senior Outreach Transportation Huntington Beach, CA
Trumbull Red Cross Transportation Warren, Ohio
Volunteer Chore Services Tacoma, WA
VON Volunteer Transportation Program Ontario, Canada

Work Group Members

Karl Johanson, Chair Council on Aging & Human Services
Tracey Christianson, Washington State Transit Insurance Pool
Mike Curry, Catholic Services of Western Washington
Tracy Gunter, Lewis/Mason/Thurston Agency on Aging
Nancy Hanna, Office of Community Development
Tim Hockett, Olympic Community Action
Jeanne Audry-Lang, DSHS Medical Assistance Administration
Patty McDonald, DSHS Aging & Adult Services Administration
Bonnie Miller, Intercity Transit
Chris Quimby, Catholic Community Services
Eilene M. Sullivan, Senior Services of South Sound
Daphne Tackett, Pierce Transit

Project Staff Members

Barb Savary, WA Department of Transportation
Project Director
Don Chartock, Agency Council on Coordinated Transportation
Coordination Consultant