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The 18th Amendment to the Washington State Constitution dedicates motor 
fuel tax collections to “highway purposes.”	 �
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wide average tax is 45.5¢ per gallon as of June 30, 2011.  

The federal tax on gasoline is 18.4¢ per gallon for all 

states (last increase 1993).  Federal and state taxes ac-

count for 12.7% of the average pump price of gasoline in 

the nation during the first half of 2011 and 15.0% of the 

average pump price of gasoline in Washington during the 

same period of time. 

Washington United States

$3.73 $3.59

$0.56 $0.45

15.0% 12.7%

Source: The U.S. Energy Information Administration 
motor fuel prices for the period of January 2011-June 2011. 

The Impact of the Combined State and Federal 
Motor Fuel Tax Rates at the Pump 
(dollars per gallon)

Average Motor Fuel Tax Rate
(Including Federal Gas Tax of 18.4¢) 

Motor Fuel Tax as a Percentage 
of the Retail Price of Gasoline

Average Retail Price of Gasoline 

The information in this report is gathered from the Commerce Clearing 
House (CCH) State Tax Guide, Statute Summaries.  In addition, data 
was supplemented with information supplied by individual states, of-
ficial DOT web sites and telephone interviews with officials in selected 
states.

Fuel Taxes: A State-by-State Comparison is published 

with the intent to assess and compare Washington’s mo-

tor fuel tax to that of the other 49 states and the District 

of Columbia.  Throughout the country, state and local     

governments impose a variety of cents-per-gallon taxes 

and taxes based on the retail or wholesale price of fuel.  

Some states also impose environmental or business 

taxes that translate into cents-per-gallon charges at the 

pump.  To determine how Washington compares to the 

other states in the nation, the Washington State Depart-

ment of Transportation semi-annually analyzes data from 

other states to learn what taxes are imposed on fuel used 

by cars and trucks traveling on the nation’s roads.	

This report covers the period from January 1, 2011, 

through  June 30, 2011. The average cost of fuel increased 

during this time period. Since our last report  (December 

2010) the nation’s average cost of fuel increased by 73 

cents resulting in upward changes to states with appli-

cable sales tax or variable tax rates.  

Washington ranked 6th among the 50 states and the Dis-

trict of Columbia for combined state and local gasoline 

taxes for the first half of 2011.  A majority of the states 

(24) have combined fuel tax rates that fall within the 20¢ 

to 30¢ range, twelve states fall into the 30¢ to 40¢ range, 

five states (Illinois, Connecticut, Hawaii, New York,     

California) are above 40¢ and the remaining ten have 

combined fuel tax rates under 20¢. The average state 

gasoline excise tax is 21.4¢ per gallon. The national av-

erage state and local gasoline tax rate for this six-month 

period is 27.1¢ per gallon. Washington’s 37.6¢ tax rate is 

still lower than states with congestion problems similar 

to ours  (Illinois 58.1¢, New York 44.9¢, and California, 

44.9¢).   Including the federal tax on gasoline, the nation-
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Alaska 51
Wyoming 50

New Jersey 49
South Carolina 48

Oklahoma 47
Missouri 46

New Mexico 45
Arizona 44

Alabama 43
New Hampshire 42

Vermont 41
Texas 40

Louisiana 39
Mississippi 38
Tennessee 37

Arkansas 36
Iowa 35

Colorado 34
Delaware 33

North Dakota 32
Dist. of Columbia 31

Maryland 30
Massachusetts 29

South Dakota 28
Utah 27

Kansas 26
Virginia 25

Kentucky 24
Idaho 23

Nebraska 22
Minnesota 21

Montana 20
Ohio 19

Georgia 18
Indiana 17
Maine 16

Pennsylvania 15
Rhode Island 14
West Virginia 13

North Carolina 12
Oregon 11
Florida 10
Nevada 9

Wisconsin 8
Michigan 7

Washington 6
California 5
New York 4

Hawaii 3
 

Illinois 1

State by State Combined State and Local Gas Tax Rate Comparison
January 1, 2011 through June 30, 2011
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Guide to the Tables

Several tables are presented in this report that delineate the states’ rankings.  Gasoline and diesel taxes for each state are displayed in tables A and 
C, respectively.  The tax information in each of these tables is stratified into seven columns by the following categories:

Columns A1 and C1:  Federal Taxes

These columns show the sum of the federal excise taxes on gasoline and diesel fuel. 

Columns A2 and C2:  State Excise Tax

These columns show state excise taxes on gasoline and diesel fuel.

Columns A3 and C3:  Sales and Use Tax Percentage Rates

These columns show state and local sales and use taxes as a percentage of the price of fuel.  These columns also contain taxes levied on the retail 
or wholesale price of fuel.  Locally imposed sales taxes were included since these are often collected by state agencies and, in some states, are so 
widely imposed that they uniformly and substantially raise the sales tax rates statewide.  

Columns A4 and C4:  Sales, Use, and Other Business Taxes in Cents-Per-Gallon

These columns show state and local sales and use taxes as a rate of cents-per-gallon calculated using the tax rate from column A3.

Columns A5 and C5:  Other State Taxes

These columns show other state taxes including inspection, environmental fees such as underground storage and discharge fees, import and 
miscellaneous post-production taxes on petroleum products.

Columns A6 and C6:  Local Excise Taxes

These columns show all taxes (other than sales taxes) levied locally at a cents-per-gallon rate.  

Columns A7 and C7:  Total Taxes

These columns show the total rates for all federal, state, and local taxes on highway fuels.

Following each of the component tables are tables B and D, which show various rank orderings of the states based on the fuel taxes imposed.  The 
stratification scheme for showing the relative ranking of the states was adopted to show the separate and combined impact of the federal, state and 
local taxes.

Columns B1 and D1:  State Excise Taxes Only

These columns show the rates normally cited as the state gas or diesel tax rates.

Columns B2 and D2:  State Excise and Other State Taxes Only

These columns rank the states by all state-imposed taxes except sales tax.

Columns B3 and D3:  All State and Local Taxes

These columns rank the states by all taxes imposed on highway fuel by state or local governments.

 

Columns B4 and D4:  All State, Federal, and Local Taxes

These are similar to columns B3 and D3, but include all federal taxes on highway fuel as well.

It is important to remember that this report is designed to show roughly what consumers are paying in fuel taxes in each state.  It is not designed to 
indicate what other state governments are spending on roads. 

While the gasoline tax tables are fairly straightforward, the diesel tables are complicated by the diversity of state tax structures.  In most states, the 
diesel fuel tax is equivalent to the gasoline tax, so drivers of personal diesel-powered vehicles will pay at the same rate as other motorists.  Diesel-
powered commercial trucks, however, will often pay more; several states charge motor carriers through road taxes, fuel tax surcharges, or weight-
mile taxes.  In these states the motor carrier may be exempt from all or a portion of the fuel tax but will usually pay an equal or greater tax on road 
operations through one of these other taxes.
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The rates shown in this comparison do not fully depict what the states are collecting from users. Alaska, for example, has the 
lowest combined state and local fuel tax rates in the nation, and no state excise tax. It has no dedicated user fees; general fund 
appropriations account for a portion of the highway budget three times greater than revenues from motor fuel and motor carrier 
taxes. What cannot be shown on these tables are Alaska’s oil production fees, which amount to a tax in every state on every user of 
petroleum products derived from Alaskan oil. Other oil-producing states have similar production and severence fees, which could be 
perceived as instruments for taxing users in other states.

Gasoline Tax Tables
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 A1: A2: A3 A4 A5: A6: Total State A7:
State Federal Excise Other Local & Local Total

Tax Tax %* ¢/gal Taxes Taxes Taxes Tax
Alabama 18.40¢ 16.00¢ 2.00¢ 1.46¢ 19.46¢ 37.86¢
Alaska 18.40¢ 8.00¢ 8.00¢ 26.40¢
Arizona 18.40¢ 18.00¢ 1.00¢ 19.00¢ 37.40¢
Arkansas 18.40¢ 21.50¢ .30¢ 21.80¢ 40.20¢
California 18.40¢ 35.30¢ 2.25% 8.08¢ 1.52¢ 44.90¢ 63.30¢
Colorado 18.40¢ 22.00¢ .01¢ 22.01¢ 40.41¢
Connecticut 18.40¢ 25.00¢ 22.11¢ .01¢ 47.12¢ 65.52¢
Delaware 18.40¢ 23.00¢ 23.00¢ 41.40¢
Dist. of Columbia 18.40¢ 23.50¢ 23.50¢ 41.90¢
Florida 18.40¢ 4.00¢ 6.0% 12.20¢ 6.93¢ 10.24¢ 33.36¢ 51.76¢
Georgia 18.40¢ 7.50¢ 4.0% 10.10¢ 1.20¢ 10.53¢ 29.33¢ 47.73¢
Hawaii 18.40¢ 17.00¢ 4.0% 14.37¢ .12¢ 13.58¢ 45.06¢ 63.46¢
Idaho 18.40¢ 25.00¢ 1.00¢ 26.00¢ 44.40¢
Illinois 18.40¢ 19.00¢ 34.00¢ 1.10¢ 4.00¢ 58.10¢ 76.50¢
Indiana 18.40¢ 18.00¢ 12.30¢ 1.00¢ 31.30¢ 49.70¢
Iowa 18.40¢ 21.00¢ 1.00¢ 22.00¢ 40.40¢
Kansas 18.40¢ 24.00¢ 1.03¢ 25.03¢ 43.43¢
Kentucky 18.40¢ 24.50¢ 1.40¢ 25.90¢ 44.30¢
Louisiana 18.40¢ 20.00¢ .13¢ 20.13¢ 38.53¢
Maine 18.40¢ 29.50¢ 2.13¢ 31.63¢ 50.03¢
Maryland 18.40¢ 23.50¢ 23.50¢ 41.90¢
Massachusetts 18.40¢ 21.00¢ 2.50¢ 23.50¢ 41.90¢
Michigan 18.40¢ 19.00¢ 6.0% 17.60¢ .88¢ 37.48¢ 55.88¢
Minnesota 18.40¢ 27.50¢ .20¢ 27.70¢ 46.10¢
Mississippi 18.40¢ 18.00¢ .40¢ 3.00¢ 21.40¢ 39.80¢
Missouri 18.40¢ 17.00¢ .80¢ 17.80¢ 36.20¢
Montana 18.40¢ 27.00¢ .75¢ 27.75¢ 46.15¢
Nebraska 18.40¢ 26.40¢ .90¢ 27.30¢ 45.70¢
Nevada 18.40¢ 24.00¢ .81¢ 8.60¢ 33.41¢ 51.81¢
New Hampshire 18.40¢ 18.00¢ 1.51¢ 19.51¢ 37.91¢
New Jersey 18.40¢ 10.50¢ 2.75%  4.00¢ 14.50¢ 32.90¢
New Mexico 18.40¢ 17.00¢ 1.88¢ 18.88¢ 37.28¢
New York 18.40¢ 8.00¢ 4.0% 9.00¢ 17.25¢ 10.70¢ 44.95¢ 63.35¢
North Carolina 18.40¢ 32.50¢ .25¢ 32.75¢ 51.15¢
North Dakota 18.40¢ 23.00¢   .03¢ 23.03¢ 41.43¢
Ohio 18.40¢ 28.00¢ 28.00¢ 46.40¢
Oklahoma 18.40¢ 16.00¢ 1.00¢ 17.00¢ 35.40¢
Oregon 18.40¢ 30.00¢ 3.00¢ 33.00¢ 51.40¢
Pennsylvania 18.40¢ 31.20¢ .50¢ 31.70¢ 50.10¢
Rhode Island 18.40¢ 31.00¢ 1.00¢ 32.00¢ 50.40¢
South Carolina 18.40¢ 16.00¢ .75¢ 16.75¢ 35.15¢
South Dakota 18.40¢ 22.00¢ 2.00¢ 24.00¢ 42.40¢
Tennessee 18.40¢ 20.00¢ 1.40¢ 21.40¢ 39.80¢
Texas 18.40¢ 20.00¢ .03¢ 20.03¢ 38.43¢
Utah 18.40¢ 24.50¢ .01¢ 24.51¢ 42.91¢
Vermont 18.40¢ 19.00¢ 1.00¢ 20.00¢ 38.40¢
Virginia 18.40¢ 17.50¢ .20¢ 7.54¢ 25.24¢ 43.64¢
Washington 18.40¢ 37.50¢ .10¢ 37.60¢ 56.00¢
West Virginia 18.40¢ 20.50¢ 5.0% 11.70¢ 32.20¢ 50.60¢
Wisconsin 18.40¢ 30.90¢ 2.00¢ 1.36¢ 34.26¢ 52.66¢
Wyoming 18.40¢ 13.00¢ 1.00¢ 14.00¢ 32.40¢

Sales and Use Tax

Table A: Fuel Tax Components
Preliminary Gasoline Taxes for the period ending June 30, 2011

‡

†

†

†

†

†

†

†

†

The 18.4¢ Federal gasoline tax includes 0.1¢ to the Leaking Underground Storage Tank account.

Sales tax cents per-gallon rates calculated by applying the percentage rate to the national average price-per-gallon of gasoline (US all grades, all formulations) as estimated 
by the Energy Information Administration (01/11- 06/11). 
Retail or wholesale tax fixed in cents/gal.  
Washington State oil spill administration tax

8

*

1

1

1

1

1

†
‡

‡



Fuel Taxes: A State-by-State Comparison – June 30, 2011

Washington 37.50¢
California 35.30¢
North Carolina 32.50¢
Pennsylvania 31.20¢
Rhode Island 31.00¢
Wisconsin 30.90¢
Oregon 30.00¢
Maine 29.50¢
Ohio 28.00¢
Minnesota 27.50¢
Montana 27.00¢
Nebraska 26.40¢
Connecticut 25.00¢
Idaho 25.00¢
Kentucky 24.50¢
Utah 24.50¢
Kansas 24.00¢
Nevada 24.00¢
Dist. of Columbia 23.50¢
Maryland 23.50¢
Delaware 23.00¢
North Dakota 23.00¢
Colorado 22.00¢
South Dakota 22.00¢
Arkansas 21.50¢
Iowa 21.00¢
Massachusetts 21.00¢
West Virginia 20.50¢
Louisiana 20.00¢
Tennessee 20.00¢
Texas 20.00¢
Illinois 19.00¢
Michigan 19.00¢
Vermont 19.00¢
Arizona 18.00¢
Indiana 18.00¢
Mississippi 18.00¢
New Hampshire 18.00¢
Virginia 17.50¢
Hawaii 17.00¢
Missouri 17.00¢
New Mexico 17.00¢
Alabama 16.00¢
Oklahoma 16.00¢
South Carolina 16.00¢
Wyoming 13.00¢
New Jersey 10.50¢
Alaska 8.00¢
New York 8.00¢
Georgia 7.50¢
Florida 4.00¢

Tax RateState

Gasoline
B1:  State Excise

Connecticut 47.11¢
Washington 37.60¢
California 36.82¢
Wisconsin 32.90¢
North Carolina 32.75¢
Rhode Island 32.00¢
Pennsylvania 31.70¢
Maine 31.63¢
Oregon 30.00¢
Ohio 28.00¢
Montana 27.75¢
Minnesota 27.70¢
Nebraska 27.30¢
Idaho 26.00¢
Kentucky 25.90¢
New York 25.25¢
Kansas 25.03¢
Nevada 24.81¢
Utah 24.51¢
South Dakota 24.00¢
Massachusetts 23.50¢
Dist. of Columbia 23.50¢
Maryland 23.50¢
Delaware 23.00¢
North Dakota 23.00¢
Colorado 22.01¢
Iowa 22.00¢
Arkansas 21.80¢
Tennessee 21.40¢
West Virginia 20.50¢
Louisiana 20.13¢
Illinois 20.10¢
Texas 20.03¢
Vermont 20.00¢
Michigan 19.88¢
New Hampshire 19.51¢
Arizona 19.00¢
Indiana 19.00¢
New Mexico 18.88¢
Mississippi 18.40¢
Alabama 18.00¢
Missouri 17.80¢
Virginia 17.70¢
Hawaii 17.12¢
Oklahoma 17.00¢
South Carolina 16.75¢
Wyoming 14.00¢
Florida 10.93¢
New Jersey 10.50¢
Georgia 8.70¢
Alaska 8.00¢

Gasoline
B2:  State Excise and Other 

Taxes Only

Tax RateState

Table B: States Rank-Ordered 
GASOLINE TAXES 

Taxes Only*

* Rank-ordered based on tax rates shown in Table A, column A2.

 † Rank-ordered based on the sum of tax rates shown in Table A, columns A2,and A5.

†
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Illinois 76.50¢
Connecticut 65.52¢
Hawaii 63.46¢
New York 63.35¢
California 63.30¢
Washington 56.00¢
Michigan 55.88¢
Wisconsin 52.66¢
Nevada 51.81¢
Florida 51.76¢
Oregon 51.40¢
North Carolina 51.15¢
West Virginia 50.60¢
Rhode Island 50.40¢
Pennsylvania 50.10¢
Maine 50.03¢
Indiana 49.70¢
Georgia 47.73¢
Ohio 46.40¢
Montana 46.15¢
Minnesota 46.10¢
Nebraska 45.70¢
Idaho 44.40¢
Kentucky 44.30¢
Virginia 43.64¢
Kansas 43.43¢
Utah 42.91¢
South Dakota 42.40¢
Massachusetts 41.90¢
Dist. of Columbia 41.90¢
Maryland 41.90¢
North Dakota 41.43¢
Delaware 41.40¢
Colorado 40.41¢
Iowa 40.40¢
Arkansas 40.20¢
Mississippi 39.80¢
Tennessee 39.80¢
Louisiana 38.53¢
Texas 38.43¢
Vermont 38.40¢
New Hampshire 37.91¢
Alabama 37.86¢
Arizona 37.40¢
New Mexico 37.28¢
Missouri 36.20¢
Oklahoma 35.40¢
South Carolina 35.15¢
New Jersey 32.90¢
Wyoming 32.40¢
Alaska 26.40¢

State Tax Rate

Gasoline
B4:  All State, Federal,

and Local Taxes

State Tax Rate

Illinois 58.10¢
Connecticut 47.12¢
Hawaii 45.06¢
New York 44.95¢
California 44.90¢
Washington 37.60¢
Michigan 37.48¢
Wisconsin 34.26¢
Nevada 33.41¢
Florida 33.36¢
Oregon 33.00¢
North Carolina 32.75¢
West Virginia 32.20¢
Rhode Island 32.00¢
Pennsylvania 31.70¢
Maine 31.63¢
Indiana 31.30¢
Georgia 29.33¢
Ohio 28.00¢
Montana 27.75¢
Minnesota 27.70¢
Nebraska 27.30¢
Idaho 26.00¢
Kentucky 25.90¢
Virginia 25.24¢
Kansas 25.03¢
Utah 24.51¢
South Dakota 24.00¢
Massachusetts 23.50¢
Dist. of Columbia 23.50¢
Maryland 23.50¢
North Dakota 23.03¢
Delaware 23.00¢
Colorado 22.01¢
Iowa 22.00¢
Arkansas 21.80¢
Mississippi 21.40¢
Tennessee 21.40¢
Louisiana 20.13¢
Texas 20.03¢
Vermont 20.00¢
New Hampshire 19.51¢
Alabama 19.46¢
Arizona 19.00¢
New Mexico 18.88¢
Missouri 17.80¢
Oklahoma 17.00¢
South Carolina 16.75¢
New Jersey 14.50¢
Wyoming 14.00¢
Alaska 8.00¢

Gasoline
B3: All State and Local 

Taxes*

Table B: States Rank-Ordered 
GASOLINE TAXES (cont’d) 

* Rank-ordered based on tax rates shown in Table A, column A2, A4, A5 and A6. 
† Rank-ordered based on the tax rates shown in Table A, column A7.

†
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 A1: A2 A-3 A-4 A5: A6: Total State A7:
State Federal Excise Other Local & Local Total

Tax Tax %* ¢/gal Taxes Taxes Taxes Tax
Alabama 24.40¢ 19.00¢ 2.00¢ 1.46¢ 22.46¢ 46.86¢
Alaska 24.40¢ 8.00¢ 8.00¢ 32.40¢
Arizona 24.40¢ 26.00¢ 1.00¢ 27.00¢ 51.40¢
Arkansas 24.40¢ 22.50¢ .30¢ 22.80¢ 47.20¢
California 24.40¢ 18.00¢ 8.25% 31.43¢ 1.52¢ 51.04¢ 75.44¢
Colorado 24.40¢ 20.50¢ .01¢ 20.51¢ 44.91¢
Connecticut 24.40¢ 39.60¢ 23.78¢ 63.38¢ 87.78¢
Delaware 24.40¢ 22.00¢ 22.00¢ 46.40¢
Dist. of Columbia 24.40¢ 23.50¢ 23.50¢ 47.90¢
Florida 24.40¢ 4.00¢ 6.0% 12.40¢ 6.80¢ 10.58¢ 33.78¢ 58.18¢
Georgia 24.40¢ 7.50¢ 4.0% 10.00¢ 1.20¢ 12.33¢ 31.03¢ 55.43¢
Hawaii 24.40¢ 17.00¢ 4.0% 15.24¢ .12¢ 13.58¢ 45.98¢ 70.38¢
Idaho 24.40¢ 25.00¢ 1.00¢ 26.00¢ 50.40¢
Illinois 24.40¢ 21.50¢ 6.25% 37.00¢ 1.10¢ 4.00¢ 63.60¢ 88.00¢
Indiana 24.40¢ 16.00¢ 7.0% 12.30¢ 1.00¢ 29.30¢ 53.70¢
Iowa 24.40¢ 22.50¢ 1.00¢ 23.50¢ 47.90¢
Kansas 24.40¢ 26.00¢ 1.03¢ 27.03¢ 51.43¢
Kentucky 24.40¢ 21.50¢ 1.40¢ 22.90¢ 47.30¢
Louisiana 24.40¢ 20.00¢ .13¢ 20.13¢ 44.53¢
Maine 24.40¢ 30.70¢ 2.13¢ 32.83¢ 57.23¢
Maryland 24.40¢ 24.25¢ 24.25¢ 48.65¢
Massachusetts 24.40¢ 21.00¢ 2.50¢ 23.50¢ 47.90¢
Michigan 24.40¢ 15.00¢ 6.0% 14.20¢ .88¢ 30.08¢ 54.48¢
Minnesota 24.40¢ 27.50¢ .10¢ 27.60¢ 52.00¢
Mississippi 24.40¢ 18.00¢ .40¢ 3.00¢ 21.40¢ 45.80¢
Missouri 24.40¢ 17.00¢ .80¢ 17.80¢ 42.20¢
Montana 24.40¢ 27.75¢ .75¢ 28.50¢ 52.90¢
Nebraska 24.40¢ 26.40¢ .30¢ 26.70¢ 51.10¢
Nevada 24.40¢ 27.75¢ .81¢ 8.60¢ 37.16¢ 61.56¢
New Hampshire 24.40¢ 18.00¢ 1.51¢ 19.51¢ 43.91¢
New Jersey 24.40¢ 13.50¢ 2.75% 4.00¢ 17.50¢ 41.90¢
New Mexico 24.40¢ 21.00¢ .02¢ 21.02¢ 45.42¢
New York 24.40¢ 8.00¢ 4.0% 7.40¢ 15.70¢ 10.70¢ 41.80¢ 66.20¢
North Carolina 24.40¢ 32.50¢ .25¢ 32.75¢ 57.15¢
North Dakota 24.40¢ 23.00¢ 23.00¢ 47.40¢
Ohio 24.40¢ 28.00¢ 28.00¢ 52.40¢
Oklahoma 24.40¢ 13.00¢ 1.00¢ 14.00¢ 38.40¢
Oregon 24.40¢ 24.00¢ 3.00¢ 27.00¢ 51.40¢
Pennsylvania 24.40¢ 38.10¢ .50¢ 38.60¢ 63.00¢
Rhode Island 24.40¢ 31.00¢ 1.00¢ 32.00¢ 56.40¢
South Carolina 24.40¢ 16.00¢ .75¢ 16.75¢ 41.15¢
South Dakota 24.40¢ 22.00¢ 2.00¢ 24.00¢ 48.40¢
Tennessee 24.40¢ 17.00¢ 1.40¢ 18.40¢ 42.80¢
Texas 24.40¢ 20.00¢ .03¢ 20.03¢ 44.43¢
Utah 24.40¢ 24.50¢ .01¢ 24.51¢ 48.91¢
Vermont 24.40¢ 25.00¢ 1.00¢ 26.00¢ 50.40¢
Virginia 24.40¢ 17.50¢ .20¢ 7.54¢ 25.24¢ 49.64¢
Washington 24.40¢ 37.50¢ .10¢ 37.60¢ 62.00¢
West Virginia 24.40¢ 20.50¢ 5.0% 11.70¢ 32.20¢ 56.60¢
Wisconsin 24.40¢ 30.90¢ 2.00¢ 1.36¢ 34.26¢ 58.66¢
Wyoming 24.40¢ 13.00¢ 1.00¢ 14.00¢ 38.40¢

Sales and Use Tax

Table C: Fuel Tax Components
Diesel Taxes for the period ending June 30, 2011

†

†

†

†

†

†

†

†

†
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The 24.4¢ Federal gasoline tax includes 0.1¢ to the Leaking Underground Storage Tank account.

Sales tax cents per-gallon rates calculated by applying the percentage rate to the national average price-per-gallon of gasoline (US all grades, all formulations) as estimated 
by the Energy Information Administration (01/11- 06/11). 
Retail or wholesale tax fixed in cents/gal.  
Washington State oil spill administration tax

*
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Connecticut 63.38¢
Pennsylvania 38.60¢
Washington 37.60¢
Wisconsin 32.90¢
Maine 32.83¢
North Carolina 32.75¢
Rhode Island 32.00¢
Nevada 28.56¢
Montana 28.50¢
Ohio 28.00¢
Minnesota 27.60¢
Kansas 27.03¢
Arizona 27.00¢
Nebraska 26.70¢
Idaho 26.00¢
Vermont 26.00¢
Utah 24.51¢
Maryland 24.25¢
Oregon 24.00¢
South Dakota 24.00¢
New York 23.70¢
Dist. of Columbia 23.50¢
Iowa 23.50¢
Massachusetts 23.50¢
North Dakota 23.00¢
Kentucky 22.90¢
Arkansas 22.80¢
Illinois 22.60¢
Delaware 22.00¢
New Mexico 21.02¢
Alabama 21.00¢
Colorado 20.51¢
West Virginia 20.50¢
Louisiana 20.13¢
Texas 20.03¢
California 19.52¢
New Hampshire 19.51¢
Mississippi 18.40¢
Tennessee 18.40¢
Missouri 17.80¢
Virginia 17.70¢
Hawaii 17.12¢
Indiana 17.00¢
South Carolina 16.75¢
Michigan 15.88¢
Oklahoma 14.00¢
Wyoming 14.00¢
New Jersey 13.50¢
Florida 10.80¢
Georgia 8.70¢
Alaska 8.00¢

Diesel
D2:  State Excise and

Other State Taxes Only†

State Tax Rate

Connecticut 39.60¢
Pennsylvania 38.10¢
Washington 37.50¢
North Carolina 32.50¢
Rhode Island 31.00¢
Wisconsin 30.90¢
Maine 30.70¢
Ohio 28.00¢
Montana 27.75¢
Nevada 27.75¢
Minnesota 27.50¢
Nebraska 26.40¢
Arizona 26.00¢
Kansas 26.00¢
Idaho 25.00¢
Vermont 25.00¢
Utah 24.50¢
Maryland 24.25¢
Oregon 24.00¢
Dist. of Columbia 23.50¢
North Dakota 23.00¢
Arkansas 22.50¢
Iowa 22.50¢
Delaware 22.00¢
South Dakota 22.00¢
Illinois 21.50¢
Kentucky 21.50¢
Massachusetts 21.00¢
New Mexico 21.00¢
Colorado 20.50¢
West Virginia 20.50¢
Louisiana 20.00¢
Texas 20.00¢
Alabama 19.00¢
California 18.00¢
Mississippi 18.00¢
New Hampshire 18.00¢
Virginia 17.50¢
Hawaii 17.00¢
Missouri 17.00¢
Tennessee 17.00¢
Indiana 16.00¢
South Carolina 16.00¢
Michigan 15.00¢
New Jersey 13.50¢
Oklahoma 13.00¢
Wyoming 13.00¢
Alaska 8.00¢
New York 8.00¢
Georgia 7.50¢
Florida 4.00¢

Diesel
D1:  State Excise

Taxes Only*

State Tax Rate

 

Table D: States Rank-Ordered 
DIESEL TAXES

* Rank-ordered based on tax rates shown in Table C, column A2. 
† Rank-ordered based on the sum of tax rates shown in Table C, columns A2,and A5.

13



Fuel Taxes: A State-by-State Comparison – June 30, 2011

Table D: States Rank-Ordered 
DIESEL TAXES DIESEL TAXES (cont’d)

* Rank-ordered based on the sum of tax rates shown in Table C, columns A2, A4, A5, and A6.
† Rank-ordered based on tax rates shown in Table C, column A7.
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Illinois 63.60¢
Connecticut 63.38¢
California 51.04¢
Hawaii 45.98¢
New York 41.80¢
Pennsylvania 38.60¢
Washington 37.60¢
Nevada 37.16¢
Wisconsin 34.26¢
Florida 33.78¢
Maine 32.83¢
North Carolina 32.75¢
West Virginia 32.20¢
Rhode Island 32.00¢
Georgia 31.03¢
Michigan 30.08¢
Indiana 29.30¢
Montana 28.50¢
Ohio 28.00¢
Minnesota 27.60¢
Kansas 27.03¢
Arizona 27.00¢
Oregon 27.00¢
Nebraska 26.70¢
Idaho 26.00¢
Vermont 26.00¢
Virginia 25.24¢
Utah 24.51¢
Maryland 24.25¢
South Dakota 24.00¢
Dist. of Columbia 23.50¢
Iowa 23.50¢
Massachusetts 23.50¢
North Dakota 23.00¢
Kentucky 22.90¢
Arkansas 22.80¢
Alabama 22.46¢
Delaware 22.00¢
Mississippi 21.40¢
New Mexico 21.02¢
Colorado 20.51¢
Louisiana 20.13¢
Texas 20.03¢
New Hampshire 19.51¢
Tennessee 18.40¢
Missouri 17.80¢
New Jersey 17.50¢
South Carolina 16.75¢
Oklahoma 14.00¢
Wyoming 14.00¢
Alaska 8.00¢

Diesel
D3:  All State

and Local Taxes*

Tax RateState

Illinois 88.00¢
Connecticut 87.78¢
California 75.44¢
Hawaii 70.38¢
New York 66.20¢
Pennsylvania 63.00¢
Washington 62.00¢
Nevada 61.56¢
Wisconsin 58.66¢
Florida 58.18¢
Maine 57.23¢
North Carolina 57.15¢
West Virginia 56.60¢
Rhode Island 56.40¢
Georgia 55.43¢
Michigan 54.48¢
Indiana 53.70¢
Montana 52.90¢
Ohio 52.40¢
Minnesota 52.00¢
Kansas 51.43¢
Arizona 51.40¢
Oregon 51.40¢
Nebraska 51.10¢
Idaho 50.40¢
Vermont 50.40¢
Virginia 49.64¢
Utah 48.91¢
Maryland 48.65¢
South Dakota 48.40¢
Dist. of Columbia 47.90¢
Iowa 47.90¢
Massachusetts 47.90¢
North Dakota 47.40¢
Kentucky 47.30¢
Arkansas 47.20¢
Alabama 46.86¢
Delaware 46.40¢
Mississippi 45.80¢
New Mexico 45.42¢
Colorado 44.91¢
Louisiana 44.53¢
Texas 44.43¢
New Hampshire 43.91¢
Tennessee 42.80¢
Missouri 42.20¢
New Jersey 41.90¢
South Carolina 41.15¢
Oklahoma 38.40¢
Wyoming 38.40¢
Alaska 32.40¢

Tax Rate

Diesel
D4:  All State, Federal,

and Local Taxes†

State


