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Motorist please be advised: Check weather conditions before you 
leave 
 
Last week, snow storms temporarily closed various highways across the state. Snoqualmie Pass 
received 7 feet of snow in 7 days and was closed for about 89 hours. Avalanche crews worked 
carefully to clear 27 avalanche paths in six major areas along I-90 near Snoqualmie summit. 
Motorists are reminded that weather and road conditions can change rapidly and should plan 
accordingly. For current traveler information, please visit www.wsdot.wa.gov/traffic/passes before 
you leave to your destination or call 5-1-1. While on the road, tune to the highway advisory radios 
at AM 1610 and AM 530. 
 
WSDOT receives international attention for communication efforts  
 
WSDOT won top honors on Jan. 14 at the 87th annual Transportation Research Board meeting in 
Washington D.C. We took home three of the 11 awards in the communications competition 
designed to highlight creative ways to communicate complex information to the public. 
 
Calling young artists: Take part in Burl the Squirrel’s art contest 
  
Find out how Burl’s furry team of experts is helping designers on the I-90 Snoqualmie Pass East 
project. Elementary-aged students can join in the fun too. Find out how to participate in the 
Bridging Futures Art Contest.  

Text messaging while driving is now illegal 
Last May, Gov. Gregoire signed into law a measure that will make Washington roads safer by 
banning text messaging while driving. This law took effect Jan. 1, 2008. The law covers: reading, 
writing and sending text messages. The fine is $124. Traffic fines can be higher if the violation 
occurs in a construction zone. 

Gov. Gregoire also signed into law a measure that bans the use of cell phones while driving 
unless the driver is using a hands-free device. That law will take effect July 1, 2008, and will also 
carry a $124 fine. 

http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/News/2008/02/I-90SnoqualmiePassopen.htm
www.wsdot.wa.gov/traffic/passes
http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/News/2008/01/TRBAwardsJan08.htm
http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/Projects/I90/SnoqualmiePassEast/HyaktoKeechelusDam/TheBestofBurl.htm
http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/projects/I90/snoqualmiepasseast/hyaktokeechelusdam/bridgingfutures
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.61.668
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.61.667


 

Please forward this e-mail to others who might be interested. Subscribe to other e-mail updates 
from WSDOT, unsubscribe or send us your feedback. 

 

http://lists.wsdot.wa.gov/t/123733/47186/820/0/
http://lists.wsdot.wa.gov/t/123733/47186/820/0/
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